We are on fire!

It was Saturday morning, I was sleeping peacefully in my bed dreaming about some killer sheep (thanks to this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z4PkMPAlMFo p.s.: watch it, it’s hilarious) when my boyfriend rushed into the room and told me to get ready in 10, because…

…I was going to fly with his dad over the Holuhraun area where the volcanic eruptions are taking place.

I only had time to get my camera and put a pair of trousers and a jacket on my Batman pj’s. The next thing I know is that we’re up in the air flying towards a column of smoke in the distance.

The airplane was the size of a soap box and the turbulence was extra strong so in my mind I wrote my goodbye letter and last will while looking at the unbelievably stunning landscape. From the air, the country looks like another planet. And soon, there we were. Imagine a crack in the ground with rivers of lava coming out of it, hot like hell, and takes your breath away (and not only because of the fumes).

By the way, it’s really difficult to take pictures from an airplane. First, if you open the window, the wind will surely push your eyeballs back into your brain in no time, and you can feel that your hair is slowly getting detached from your skull giving you an auto-scalp. But it’s worth it. Even if my face had frozen off, it would’ve worth it.

I don’t wanna waste more words, let the pictures speak for themselves:

IMG_1742BetkaVass_bard13  BetkaVass_bard12 BetkaVass_bard11 BetkaVass_bard10 BetkaVass_bard5 BetkaVass_bard6  BetkaVass_bard8 BetkaVass_bard9 BetkaVass_bard4 BetkaVass_bard2 BetkaVass_bard1

Leave a Reply

